Saturday, February 09, 2008

Bahrain: Shaikh Nasser champion - Feb 10 2008 - Full story

Endurance.Net Coverage

Photo by Osama

ROYAL Team captain Shaikh Nasser bin Hamad Al Khalifa was crowned winner of the 160km race in the Endurance Horseride Championship yesterday.

The Shaikh Nasser bin Hamad Endurance Horseride Championship, which was held at the Bahrain International Endurance Village in Sakhir, comprised two races - 160km and 100km - besides two qualifying races for new riders over 85km and 65km.

The 160km race, which was a qualifier for the World Cup in Malaysia next year, was dominated by Royal Team riders as Shaikh Nasser steered Raushkan to a first-place finish in seven hours, 48 minutes and seven seconds.

Behind him was runner-up Ahmed Abdulla in 7:48:10 while Ghazi Al Dossary took the third place, completing the race with a total ride time of 7:48:33.

In the 100km race, Tawfeeq Al Ghattan of Hawar Stables clinched the trophy in four hours, 49 minutes and 56 seconds.

Al Ghattan was followed by Abdulla Al Dossary of Al Asayel Stables in 4:55:54 and head of Al Fateh Stable rider Shaikh Saqer bin Khalid Al Khalifa finished third in 5:00:02.

Meanwhile, His Majesty King Hamad attended part of the championship and was welcomed on arrival by Shaikh Nasser and representatives of the championship sponsors, Durrat Al Bahrain, as well as Bahrain Royal Equestrian and Endurance Federation officials.

Shaikh Nasser presented a briefing to His Majesty on the championship races and their stages.

His Majesty congratulated the winners in each race and wished the others success in future competitions.

His Majesty also lauded the efforts of the federation officials in organising the competition and Durrat Al Bahrain for their sponsorship.

The event was also attended by Durrat Al Bahrain chairman Abdulhakim Al Khayyat and General Organisation for Youth and Sports president Shaikh Fawaz bin Mohammed Al Khalifa who presented trophies to the winners.


160km: 1 Shaikh Nasser bin Hamad Al Khalif (Raushkan, 7:48:07); 2 Ahmed Abdulla (Barakah Bar, 7:48:10); 3 Ghazi Al Dossary (Maxico, 7:48:33); 4 Yusuf Tajer (Paula, 7:48:51); 5 Raed Mahmood (Willo Bint Khyberie, 7:48:55); 6 Sh. Daij Al Khalifa (Endrea 765, 7:48:58); 7 Mohmmed Abdulaziz (Hanneliza Baron, 7:51:16); 8 Shaik Khalid Al Khalifa (M K Whiskey, 7:51:49).

100km: 1 Tawfeeq Al Ghattan (Aqaba St Nicholas, 4:49:56); 2 Abdulla Al Dossary (Hard, 4:55:54); 3 Shaikh Saqer bin Khalid Al Khalifa (Prince Charming, 5:00:02); 4 Isa Al Ghattam (Silver, 5:19:00); 5 Muthlaq Al Muhannan (Dirham El Oumzil, 5:31:03); 6 Mohammed Ismail (Reemir, 5:51:58; 7 aqcoob Yousif (Mehboob Taj, 7:38:26; 8 Andrew Scoop (Muniki, 7:52:05); 9 Laura Lewi (Bahrain, 7:52:13).

No comments:

Italy Shows Its Hand in Bid to Host WEG 2022 ‘Alternative’ - Full Story February 22, 2019 by: Pippa Cuckson Italy has become the first and only country to publicly declare a “no...