Wednesday, February 15, 2023

Four Decades of Endurance Champions - Full Article

15 February 2023

The first seven winners were female!

The FEI Endurance World Championships 2022 returns to the Arabian Peninsular for the first time in almost 20 years later this month when Butheeb in Abu Dhabi plays host.

Endurance became an FEI discipline in 1982, with the FEI Endurance World Championships organised every other year on even years since the first was held at the Italian venue of Pratoni del Vivaro in 1986. In the years since, we've seen winners from eight nations spanning four continents.

Back in 1986, Great Britain were the first-ever Team champions, edging out the US and France. The first Individual winner was US pair Cassandra Schuler & Skikos Omar.

Brilliant Becky

The Americans would dominate the first decade of the competition, with Becky Hart winning the next three titles in a row. The first seven champions were female!...

Read more here:

No comments:

Chile's Vicente Larrain’s Golden Moment and Bright Future - Full Story 21 February 2024 Words by Stacey Stearns Images by Francisco Boetsch We speak to the young Chilean Endurance talen...