Tuesday, October 11, 2011

Malaysia: Thai Rider Wins Sultan Mizan Cup 2011


October 9 2011

SETIU (Terengganu), Oct 9 (Bernama) -- Wipawan Pawitayalarp of Thailand rode home first to pocket RM63,000 cash and an AmaSwiss watch worth RM54,000 at the Sultan Mizan Cup 2011.

He completed the 120km track astride Mulawa Angelus in 6:17:43 with an average speed of 19.06km per hour. This is the third time Wipawan, 35, has competed in the endurance challenge formerly known as the Sultan's Cup Terengganu Endurance Challenge.

Mohammad Fuad Hashim from the State of Terengganu Endurance Team (STET), riding M Marlon, finished next on 6:29:17, and received RM44,000 as the second-placed winner.

M Marlon won the Best Conditioned Horse Award, and for that, Mohd Fuad received an additional prize money of RM18,000.

In third place was Zelma Lotter on board Nashaar, winning RM32,000 after having completed in a time of 7:02:35.

Completing the ride on 7:38:30 astride Shardell Galazan, Warit Khuntarhporn rode in fourth while Mohd Sulaiman Muda on Jakim Murphy came in fifth, clocking 8:15:15. The fourth prize winner took home RM19,000 and fifth, RM13,000.

A total of 11 riders who completed the 120km race were awarded a sum of RM6,000 and a buckle, a tradition of the sport of endurance.

Yang di-Pertuan Agong Tuanku Mizan Zainal Abidin, riding RTES Smith, a nine year-old gelding, was among the 53 Malaysian riders from teams across Malaysia.

The other riders were from France, Australia, Slovakia, Indonesia, Singapore and Thailand.

Raja Permaisuri Agong Tuanku Nur Zahirah and Terengganu Menteri Besar Datuk Seri Ahmad Said were present at the prize-giving ceremony today.

Jointly organised by the Terengganu government and the Royal Terengganu Endurance Stable, the Sultan Mizan Cup 2011 was held from Friday to today at the Terengganu International Endurance Park (TIEP) in Lembah Bidong here.


No comments:

US Equestrian Announces Team for 2024 FEI Endurance World Championship for Seniors

USEF.org Lexington, Ky. – US Equestrian is pleased to announce the athlete-and-horse combinations that will represent the U.S. at the 2024...