Tuesday, November 20, 2012

Top riders ready for Morocco endurance


Tuesday, November 20, 2012

ELITE riders from around the world are ready for today's second Bahrain and Morocco Endurance Championship taking place at Dar Es Salam Forest, in Rabat.

The race, set to tip off at 10am (Bahrain time), is organised for the second time by the Bahrain Royal Equestrian and Endurance Federation (Breef) in co-operation with the Moroccan Equestrian Federation.

Riders come from Bahrain, Morocco, Tunisia, Germany, Spain, France and Belgium are lined up for the 120km ride.

They include Sabrina Arnold of Germany, Belgian-French rider Wendy Fallon, besides French riders Lisa Keyes of France and Alan Liu.

From Bahrain, Royal Endurance Team captain Shaikh Nasser bin Hamad Al Khalifa will lead some of the kingdom's best riders.

The Supreme Council for Youth a and Sports chairman and Bahrain Olympic Committee president, who had won the 2010 edition trophy, will race along with Breef president Shaikh Khalid bin Hamad Al Khalifa and six other riders - Raed Mahmood, Salman Isa, Hood Buchiri, Shaikh Mohammed bin Mubarak Al Khalifa, Mohammed Abdulsamad and Abdulhaq Qadoori.

Today's race will be divided into five stages. The first stage will be over 30km, followed by another 30km for the second, 20km for the third, 25km for the fourth and 15 for the fifth and final stage.

This year's race route will feature some changes from the one held two years ago, especially in the areas near the starting and finishing points.

There will also be two qualifying rides - over 80km and 40km - organised during the day.

Media Office and Information Centre Director and Head of Breef Media Committee Tawfiq Al Salehi said the federation is keen to implement the directives of Shaikh Nasser and Shaikh Khalid to enhance relations between Bahrain riders and those from Morocco and other countries.

US Equestrian Announces Team for 2024 FEI Endurance World Championship for Seniors

USEF.org Lexington, Ky. – US Equestrian is pleased to announce the athlete-and-horse combinations that will represent the U.S. at the 2024...