Thursday, December 14, 2006

Rylan puts hand up for National selection

Wednesday, 13 December 2006

Kimberley Ryan's win in the Marlborough endurance ride at Chestnut Valley, near Renwick, on Saturday should give the New Zealand selectors something to think about for the up coming Trans-Tasman Endurance Challenge against Australia.

Ryan, riding for the Glendaar Endurance Stables on the grey Arabian gelding Dell Gamal, won the junior 124km NRM sponsored premier points event in a ride time of 10 hours 49.13 minutes. She now has a stranglehold on the South Island's sponsored series with one ride remaining.

On the long list for selection into the New Zealand junior team, to be announced today, Ryan along with Helen Graham and open rider Linda Harmon make up a strong Marlborough line-up for the challenge to be hosted by Nelson Lakes on January 1 and 2.

Graham and her Arabian gelding, Ra'oul Abu Rakheen, produced a stunning finish to win the junior 82km event in a ride time of 6.16.37 hours. Harmon's horse, Landon V'erah, sustained a puncture wound to her leg but the rider managed to stop the blood flow to finish third in the open 82km in 6.06.19 hours.

Sarah Hamer and Rosewood Tahir from Timaru won the open 124km NRM ride in 10.30.52 hours, they also took home the best conditioned horse (BC) award. Hamer is also on the long list for trans-Tasman selection.

Marlborough under 21 Sportsperson of the Year winner Kylie Avery returned to the podium with a close gallop finish in the open 82km class. Riding her mother's stallion, West Coast Zahav, Avery managed to pip Nelson rider Chris Bonniface by a short whisker to win in 5.55.01 hours. West Coast Zahav picked up the BC award. In the open 40km Canterbury's Jenny Worsfold and Sunnybrae Serene were judged first past the post in 2.31.17 hours. Rai Valley rider Kim Swan and Alamode Armani were second. Charlie Davis and Cheeko from the Waihopai took third with Cheeko receiving the BC.

Endurance results, December 9:

Open 124km NRM Premier Points (four starters, one vetted out lame): S Hamer and Rosewood Tahir 1; K James and Glendaar Arakis 2; B Priddle and JA GAI Kascade 3. Best conditioned horse: Hamer and Rosewood Tahir.

Junior 124km NRM Premier Points (two starters, one withdrawn lame): K Ryan and Dell Gamal 1.

Open 82km (five starters): K Avery and West Coast Zahav 1; C Bonniface and Radi 2; L Harmon and Landon V'erah 3; L Kenny and PL Mississippi 4; O Schreurs and Delights Antar 5. BC horse: Avery and West Coast Zahav.

Junior 82km (two starters, one v/o sore back): H Graham and Ra'oul Abu Rakheen 1.

82km Novice (one starter): Qualified: Tampa de Oro.

Open 42km (five starters): J Worsfold and Sunnybrae Serene 1; K Swan and Alamode Armani 2; C Davis and Cheeko 3; L Ryan and Naibara Gold Treasure 4; T Blunt and Hundalee Caly X 5. BC horse: Davis and Cheeko.

42km Novice (five starters): Qualified : Silands TricTrac, Silands Rhaffety, Stonelea Maverick, Sherdon Rakada, SH Wind Song.

25km Training (two starters, two eliminated o/time).

No comments:

St. George horseman completes one of the world’s toughest endurance races - Full Story Written by E. George Goold May 10, 2024 ST. GEORGE — The Gaucho Derby is a 500-kilometer horse race throug...