Wednesday, January 31, 2007

Bahrain: Riders gear up for endurance challenge

TWO riders from Saudi Arabia have confirmed their participation in the Prime Minister Endurance Horseride Championship scheduled for Saturday at the Bahrain International Endurance Village in Sakhir.

Mohammed Al Saba'a and Abdulrahman Al Musallamani submitted their entries and more are expected to register before the start of the event.

Both riders will be taking part in the seniors event which will be over 120 kms with Al Saba'a riding Housani, which is owned by Abdulrahman Al Nuaimi, while Al Musallamani will ride Faraj, owned by Abdulla Al Musallamani.

The race is divided into five stages, starting with 30 kms for the first two stages, 25 for the third, 20 for the fourth and 15 for the fifth.

The Bahrain Royal Equestrian and Endurance Federation (Breef) received entries from four new riders for the senior event. They are Hossam Al Faraj, Jaffer Al Alawi, Ibrahim Abdali and Yousef Yaqoub.

In the juniors race, which is also over 120 kms, four riders from Hawar Stable - Tawfeeq Jaber, Jassim Isa, Salman Isa and Mohammed Jassim - have confirmed their entries.

Meanwhile, the federation continued preparations for this event being organised with the full support of Prime Minister Shaikh Khalifa bin Salman Al Khalifa.

The federation printed special t-shirts carrying a picture of the Prime Minister for all riders taking part.

Breef general secretary Ghalib Al Alawi said the veterinary tests will take place at the village on Saturday before the start of the race.

Al Alawi said the commissioner for the championship will be Mahmood Abdulsaheb who is being assisted by Mohammed Dadulla and Fahad Al Rumaihi. The veterinary committee is headed by Dr Mohammed Al Hammad of Saudi Arabia and includes 12 members from Bahrain, Saudi Arabia and Brazil.
Gulf Daily News article

No comments:

US Equestrian Announces Team for 2024 FEI Endurance World Championship for Seniors Lexington, Ky. – US Equestrian is pleased to announce the athlete-and-horse combinations that will represent the U.S. at the 2024...