Wednesday, July 26, 2006

New Zealand Endurance Team to WEG Named

The team to represent Endurance NZ at the World Equestrian Games in Aachen, Germany during August has been named.
The team features two stallions and a wide mix of ages, experience and geographic locations. Three of the riders have already competed at 4* level - Howard Harris has ridden at four World Championships and seven Continental Championships, Denise Hill rode at the World Championships in Dubai last year, and Brian Tiffen rode at WEG in Jerez and again at the World Championships in Dubai last year.

Shane Dougan was in the victorious Trans Tasman team in October last year and this will be 20-year-old Kylie Avery's first competition overseas.

Team (in alphabetical order):
Kylie Avery & Silands Jasark (Marlborough)
Shane Dougan & Vigar Riffal (Eketahuna)
Howard Harris & Harmere Turfan (Australia)
Denise Hill & Delahaye Micah (Taumarunui)
Brian Tiffen & Sonny (Timaru)

Philip Graham & Wolfgang Amadeus (Cheviot)
Sarah Hamer & Rosewood Tahir (Oamaru)
Kevin James & SS Nassada (Oamaru)
Chris King & Aquila Al Nasir (Canterbury)
Garry Walker & Vigar Alzena (Kimbolton)

The number of Endurance riders has been reduced by the WEG organising committee, and there is now only one individual per country, with 4 riders making up the team. The team and individual rider will not be named until just prior to the event.

New Zealand Equestrian Federation Website

No comments:

Endurance GB bans the use of whips in elite competitions - Full Article by News Team 04/12/2023 Endurance GB, the national governing body for endurance riding in the UK...