Tuesday, January 17, 2006

Terengganu To Host 2008 World Endurance Championship

January 16, 2006 19:26 PM

KUALA LUMPUR, Jan 16 (Bernama) -- Thirty-five countries are expected to take part in the Federation of Equestre Internationale (FEI) World Endurance Championship at the International Endurance Centre at Lembah Bidong, Merang, Terengganu in August 2008.

Sultan Terengganu Sultan Mizan Zainal Abidin in announcing this here Monday said this prestigious championship would be participated by riders from Europe, West Asia, United States, Asia, South America, Australia and Malaysia.

The Sultan, who would also be participating, said Malaysia would be sending 12 riders who would be selected by the Equestrian Association of Malaysia (EAM).

"I will personally make my own preparation by participating in several championships within and outside the country over the next two years," His Highness told a press conference after a handing over ceremony of the FEI recognition letter to Yayasan DiRaja Sultan Mizan as the championship organiser.

The letter was handed over by FEI Endurance Committee President Dr Hallvard Sommtersiuh.

Sultan Mizan said the national riders selected would undergo training and exposures in several domestic competitions as well as abroad.

"We have a lot of experienced and potential riders who could carve their name in this endurance event. For example, Datuk Awang Kamaruddin was once the world number one rider in 2001 and last year in Dubai, some of our riders managed to finish the race eventhough they were in the 30th group," the Sultan said.

Terengganu was selected as the host since Sultan Mizan had been personally active in the sport.

The Endurance Sports Centre which cost RM20 million featured a 160-km endurance circuit besides a stable of international standard and an equestrian hospital.


No comments:

US Equestrian Announces Team for 2024 FEI Endurance World Championship for Seniors

USEF.org Lexington, Ky. – US Equestrian is pleased to announce the athlete-and-horse combinations that will represent the U.S. at the 2024...