Tuesday, June 16, 2009

The Netherlands: 2009 Ermelo: Dutch National Championship

Belgium's Kristel Van Den Abeele, riding Yasmina du Florival, won the
160-km CEI*** Endurance ride and Dutch Championship in Ermelo,
Netherlands on 12 June, 2009.

Finishing just seconds behind Van Den Abeele were Dutch riders Yvonne
Van Der Velde and Jeanne Linneweever, both of whom made up at least 17 minutes on the final 16 kilometer loop to
almost catch the leader Van Den Abeele. Unfortunately, both Van Der
Velde's horse Joy Escobar, and Linneweever's horse Riki's Macho Man,
were eliminated at the finish, for lameness and metabolics, respectively.

Lisette Druenen of the Netherlands, who came fourth across the finish
line 25 minutes later, placed second when her horse completed the
final vet inspection, making her the 2009 Dutch National Champion. Van
Den Abeele's mount Yasmina du Florival also received the Best
Condition award. Last year's Dutch Champions, Jannet Van Wijk and
Latino finished third. 19 riders from 9 countries contested the 160 km ride,
with 6 finishing. Winning time was 9:37.37, with an average speed of
16.62 km/h.

Additional rides were held, including the CEI** 125 km ride, where
Maike Grell of Germany, riding Tango Lady XX, finished in first place,
just a few seconds over Rashed Saeed Al Kamda of the UAE, riding
Taliesen. Heike Blumel of Germany and Voila Kossack finished third; 15
of 21 riders completed the race, and Tango Lady received Best Condition. In the CEI-J-YR** 120 km ride, all four entrants were elimated by lamenesses at the third vet gate.

Complete results and photos at


No comments:

Ireland: ILDRA returns to the trail

Farmweek.com - Full Article By Bree Rutledge - August 10, 2020 THE Irish Long Distance Riding Association (ILDRA) held their first event ...